Three Indians, Coach Wes King Superlatives on 20-2A Honor list

Three members of the Class 2A Area Champion Frankston Indians baseball team and their Head Coach Wes King were honored by selection for District 20-2A All-District Superlative honors announced on Monday, May 21.

Head Coach King, who led the Indians to a District 20-2A Championship and a trip to the Region III Quarterfinals, was named "Coach of the Year".

Junior Walker McCann was selected as "Pitcher of the Year" and junior center fielder Ryan Harper shared "Offensive Player of the Year" honors with Kerens senior Danny Conklin. Harper batted in the second spot in the Indians batting order and his key hits helped the Indians in their championship year.

Freshman pitcher and infielder Carson Bizzell was named "Newcomer of the Year". He helped the Indians starting and relieving as a pitcher and excelled as an infielder. He also added to the Indians hitting in the middle of the battling order.

Named to the First Team for the Indians were senior catcher Jared Cook; senior infielders Walker London, shortstop; and Christian Hernandez, first base; outfielders senior Austin Carr in right field; and junior Conlan Lemay in left field.

Selected as "Utility Player" was senior Matt Metzig who played in the infield and at pitcher or wherever needed. Also sharing the honor was Owen Cretsinger of Cayuga. Senior Nic Woolverton of Cayuga was honored as "Designated Hitter".

Other Superlatives in the All-District selections included Kerens sophomore Kannon Ritchie as "Most Valuable Player" and Martins Mill senior Brayden Edwards and LaPoynor sophomore Case Partridge who shared "Defensive Player of the Year".



COACH WES KING

Other district players on the First Team were Kerens sophomore catcher Matthew Rickert; infielders Kerens sophomore Andy Conklin, LaPoynor junior Ruston Pittman, Martins Mill senior Austin Curtis and junior Luke Lucking, Neches juniors Collin Morgan and Kartes Morgan; outfielders Martins Mill senior Alex Tyner, Cayuga senior Ayden Stovall, LaPoynor sophomore Colt Rogers and Kerens junior Lane Lynch.



WALKER McCANN

RYAN HARPER

CARSON BIZZELL — FISD Courtesy Photos